Author Topic: A Thanks to the RND Community  (Read 522 times)

Offline Tiger Guy

• DonatorOld Forum MemberDedicated SummonerWindows User
    View More Badges!

• Respect: +1915
A Thanks to the RND Community
« on: January 20, 2016, 01:14:53 AM »
+24
For those who know me, you would probably assume that it would be out of place for me to make a post like this. But I feel like making one since it's been looming on my mind for a few months now.

I would like to thank everyone in the RND community. Even the people that I didn't like at one point. You guys helped define my late childhood/early adulthood.

Before I got into the RND community, I was a total newbie as this whole computer gaming/gaming community thing. I honestly did not know what I was getting myself into when I first opened up GMOD six years ago. The only experience I had of it was of a friend at school telling me about it.

I hopped around a few servers, but none really caught my eye. It wasn't until I joined the RND ZS server that I discovered a server that I enjoyed for the gameplay and the people in it. I might still have the piece of paper I wrote the forum URL on in my room, unless if my mom threw it away.

When I joined the forum and became a regular on the servers, I discovered a place that I truly loved. This place was pretty much my only hangout spot throughout 8th grade and most of high school. Even if I did not have many friends to talk to at school, I was not lonely since I knew that my online friends would be on and ready to game.

This place is where I discovered the true internet. I got used to the trolls/minges, interacting with 'interesting' people, and seeing how weird the internet can be at times. In the past I was somewhat scared of the internet, since I had an outside view in. Once I got in, I realized that the internet was not as bad as advertised.