Author Topic: Check my build!  (Read 117 times)

Offline Monorail Cat

• "We do these things not because they are easy, but because they are mlg pro" -JFK
  • Windows UserDonator
    View More Badges!

• PANZERKAMPHWAGON SCHADENFREUDE
  • Respect: +503
Check my build!
« on: July 19, 2014, 03:29:23 PM »
+1
Hey guys!  I'm finally getting a BRAND NEW COMPUTER!  I've been using the same computer I'm on right now for about 7 years.  I do not know what it's like to play Planetside 2, DayZ, Space Engineers, FTB Minecraft, Natural Selection 2, Metro 2033, and many other higher-end games.  SO, I would like you lovely people to look over my build before I buy it tomorrow. 

Monorail's New PC

Offline Goat

• Windows UserDog LoverLeague Player
    View More Badges!

• Respect: +178
Re: Check my build!
« Reply #1 on: August 01, 2014, 12:32:30 PM »
Hey sorry no one has posted yet, but here's my analysis:

A budget would be nice, because then I'd know what I can change and what I can't. I'm going to assume that you're budget is under $750, so I'll work with that.

CPU: AMD seems perfectly reasonable for a budget build, although they run hot as hell and I didn't see an aftermarket cooler in your list, so if you're comfortable with your CPU running around 50C idle, don't bother, if not, get a Hyper 212 for around $30.

Mobo: Seems like a generic AMD mobo, no problems there.

Memory: You can definitely get that same RAM a bit cheaper, it's all the same anyways.

Storage: Great choice, WD is a great brand and my 1TB Caviar Black is still going strong after 5 years.

Video Card: I have problems here. Unless you absolutely NEED Nvidia, you should use AMD for a budget build. I went ahead and added a 280x, which performs on the same level as a GTX 770, but is $60 more than your 760. If you need the Nvidia features, go ahead and ignore this suggestion.

Case: A case is entirely up the you. It's not my business to change as I feel it's more of a personal thing when building a PC.